October 2, 2023

Top Country MV

Music videos for your life.

The Top 6 Albums Out On March 12 : All Songs Considered : NPR

Singer Valerie June. Her new album, The Moon and Stars: Prescriptions For Dreamers, is on our shortlist for the best releases out on March 12.

Renata Raksha/Courtesy of the artist

hide caption

toggle caption

Renata Raksha/Courtesy of the artist

When singer Valerie June began work on her new album, she knew she wanted to recapture the magical thinking of her youth, reflecting on the mysteries of the universe and the ties that bind us with childlike wonder. The result is a beautifully enchanting collection of songs called The Moon and Stars: Prescriptions For Dreamers. On this week’s show we listen to the songs “You And I” and “Starlight Ethereal Silence” from the record and talk about the inspired ways Valerie June weaves together folk, soul and cosmic psychedelia on this spiritual and sonic journey.

Also on the show: Selena Gomez’s first-ever Spanish language record, a chopped and screwed collaboration from producer Blake Mills and bassist Pino Palladino, the heady sound collages of Graham Lambkin and more. Nate Chinen of WBGO and Jazz Night In America joins NPR Music’s Lars Gotrich, WNXP‘s Jewly Hight, WXPN‘s John Morrison and Alt.Latino‘s Annamaria Sayre, along with host Robin Hilton as they share their picks for the best new albums out on March 12.

Featured Albums:

  1. Valerie June — The Moon And Stars: Prescriptions For Dreamers
    Featured Songs: “You And I” and “Starlight Ethereal Silence”
  2. Selena Gomez — Revelación
    Featured Song: “Adios”
  3. Pino Palladino and Blake Mills — Notes With Attachments
    Featured Song: “Soundwalk”
  4. Lushlife — Redamancy
    Featured Song: “Depaysement”
  5. LOUISAHHH — The Practice of Freedom
    Featured Song: “Love Is A Punk”
  6. Graham Lambkin — Solos
    Featured Songs: “Ginkamix”

Other notable releases for March 12: Allie Crow Buckley — Moonlit and Devious; DJ Muggs — Dies Occidendum; Lake Street Dive — Obviously; Leanne Betasamosake Simpson — Theory of Ice.